World Power Rankings — Men

Prefontaine Classic edition

Yesterday I posted my women’s power rankings for the events contested at this weekend’s Prefontaine Classic. Now it’s time for the men’s events. Those in bold are entered at the Pre Classic.

100 meters

1. Tyson Gay (USA)
2. Justin Gatlin (USA)
3. Mike Rodgers (USA)
4. Nesta Carter (JAM)
5. Ryan Bailey (USA)
Disabled list: Usain Bolt (JAM), Yohan Blake (JAM), Doc Patton (USA), Asafa Powell (JAM)

Gay is head and shoulders above the rest right now, winning by massive margins. Gatlin is the only other athlete with a pair of major wins (Doha Diamond League, Beijing World Challenge).

200 meters

1. Warren Weir (JAM)
2. Nickel Ashmeade (JAM)
3. Jason Young (JAM)
4. Tyson Gay (USA)
5. Justin Gatlin (USA)
Disabled list: Usain Bolt (JAM), Yohan Blake (JAM), Wallace Spearmon (USA)

Weir has a pair of Diamond League wins in Shanghai and New York. Ashmeade beat Weir at the early May World Challenge meet in Kingston.

400 meters

1. Kirani James (GRN)
2. LaShawn Merritt (USA)
3. Luguelín Santos (DOM)
4. Kevin Borlée (BEL)
5. Josh Mance (USA)

The top three finished in that order at the Diamond League opener in Shanghai. Mance beat Borlée at the Adidas Grand Prix in a non-Diamond League race.

800 meters

1. David Rudisha (KEN)
2. Mohamed Aman (ETH)

3. Nijel Amos (BOT)
4. Leonard Kosencha (KEN)
5. Timothy Kitum (KEN)

There have been only two major races so far this year (Diamond League meets in Doha and New York) and Rudisha has won both.

1500 meters

1. Asbel Kiprop (KEN)
2. Mekonnen Gebremedhin (ETH)
3. Bethwel Birgen (KEN)
4. Silas Kiplagat (KEN)
5. Taoufik Makhloufi (ALG)

Kiprop won both Diamond League races. Gebremedhin and Birgen were each runner-up once. Kiplagat and Makhloufi rate solely on last year’s accomplishments.


1. Conseslus Kipruto (KEN)
2. Paul Koech (KEN)
3. Hillary Yego (KEN)

4. Brimin Kipruto (KEN)
5. Abel Mutai (KEN)

The top three took the top three places at the Diamond League opener in Shanghai with the year’s three fastest times.

3000/5000/10,000 meters

1. Hagos Gebrhiwet (ETH)
2. Galen Rupp (USA)
3. Mo Farah (GBR)
4. Thomas Longosiwa (KEN)
5. Caleb Mwangangi Ndiku (KEN)

Gebrrhiwet has run very well this year and could be a challenger to Farah at the World Championships. He and Rupp split their two meetings (both indoors).

110m Hurdles

1. Orlando Ortega (CUB)
2. Ryan Brathwaite (BAH)
3. Jason Richardson (USA)
4. David Oliver (USA)
5. Hansle Parchment (JAM)
Disabled list: Aries Merritt (USA)

The Prefontaine Classic start list has not yet been released. It’s a mixed bag in this event, as the top three have each won a single major race and Oliver leads the world list.

High jump

1. Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
2. Aleksey Dmitrik (RUS)
3. Derek Drouin (CAN)
4. Sergey Mudrov (RUS)
5. Erik Kynard (USA)

Barshim leads the world list and hasn’t finished lower than second. Drouin has two wins over college rival Kynard. Mudrov beat Dmitrik for the European Indoor Championship gold medal.

Pole vault

1. Renaud Lavillenie (FRA)
2. Björn Otto (GER)
3. Malte Mohr (GER)
4. Konstadínos Filippídis (GRE)
5. Raphael Holzdeppe (GER)

Lavillenie dominated 2012 and picked right up where he left off. Otto managed to beat him at the Drake Relays. Mohr has been very consistent, but Filippídis beat him to pick up the first win on the Diamond League tour.

Long Jump

1. Aleksandr Menkov (RUS)
2. Li Jinzhe (CHN)
3. Michel Tornéus (SWE)
4. Marquis Dendy (USA)
5. Damar Forbes (JAM)

Menkov won the European Indoor Championship. Newcomer Li beat him at the Diamond League opener in Shanghai. Collegians Dendy and Forbes had a few dandy battles.


1. Robert Harting (GER)
2. Piotr Małachowski (POL)
3. Gerd Kanter (EST)
4. Virgilijus Alekna (LTU)
5. Ehsan Hadadi (IRI)

Harting hasn’t lost since August of 2010 and put up a world leader in his very first meet of the year. Małachowski won a pair of top-level competitions, the Diamond League opener in Shanghai and the Danek Memorial in Turnov, with Kanter second both times.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.